Welcome Back to the 2017-2018 School Year!

It is hard to believe that we are back at it!  This is my favorite time of the year.  I love driving to work on the first day of school, passing our students who are decked out in their new white sneakers, and back to school outfits.  The excitement of the new year brings new hopes, dreams and yes, challenges for all of us.  I continue to be humbled to be in this profession, and I am grateful to be able to work with such amazing dedicated colleagues.  As Christa McAuliffe pointed out many years ago, we touch the future, we teach.  Everyone should be proud of the bright future that you are a part of building each and everyday.

I hope to use this site to communicate with you on several issues.  This is a great way to keep informed of changes, professional development opportunities and other items that I feel you may find of interest.  If any of you come across an article or something you would like to share, please send it my way and I will share it for you.

When I spoke to you last Monday, I shared the Blueberry Story.  Many of you have asked that I post it as this story is something we need to remind ourselves of from time to time.

I look forward to working together to meet the needs of our students in a kind, caring and supportive environment.  I, like many am deeply disturbed by the tenor of discourse in our country.   Let’s all make a commitment to keep that tenor out of the halls of our schools, and continue to strive towards an organization that respects diversity and embraces our many professional styles.  It is that diversity that allows us to meet the many needs of our students.

Once again, thank you for all you do!   Here’s to a great year!  Here’s to our amazing students!

This entry was posted in AOS 98 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

